NATO PA President to address Brussels NATO Summit

06 July 2018

(Updated ) Brussels, 9 July 2018 -  NATO PA President Hon. Paolo Alli (Italy) will address NATO’s leaders at their Summit in Brussels on Wednesday 11 July.

The Assembly’s President is traditionally invited to address Summit meetings of NATO Heads of State and Government to present the views of Allied legislators on the key issues affecting the Alliance. In a recent declaration (444), the Assembly as a whole emphasised the crucial opportunity offered by the Brussels Summit to demonstrate NATO’s unity and credibility.

Mr Alli is expected to focus his address on the importance of the transatlantic link, and to encourage Allied governments to reconfirm the commitments made at the 2014 and 2016 NATO Summits to achieve a fairer sharing of the burden on defence spending, capabilities and contributions to operations.

He will also address the strengthening of NATO’s deterrence and collective defence arrangements; the continuation of NATO’s policy of deterrence and dialogue with Russia; the further development of NATO’s role in combatting terrorism and projecting stability in its neighbourhood; progress in NATO‑EU cooperation; Alliance modernisation; the next steps in NATO’s open door policy, including support for an invitation to the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia[1] to begin accession talks; and the importance of connecting NATO with its citizens.

The text of Mr Alli’s address to Summit leaders will be distributed immediately following his presentation on Wednesday afternoon.

Ahead of the Summit, 53 NATO Parliamentary Assembly members of  NATO member parliaments will hold a pre-Summit meeting to discuss national, NATO and independent perspectives on the priorities and expectations for the Summit.

Guest speakers will include Rose GOTTEMOELLER, Deputy Secretary General of NATO, Frank BAKKE-JENSEN, Minister of Defence of Norway, Sven MIKSER, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Estonia, Michael MURPHY, United States Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for European and Eurasian Affairs, François de KERCHOVE D’EXAERDE, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Belgium to NATO, Lieutenant General Jan BROEKS, Director General of the NATO International Military Staff, Magnus NORDENMAN, Director, Transatlantic Security Initiative, Atlantic Council and Ian LESSER, Vice-President for Foreign Policy and Bruno LÉTÉ, Senior Fellow, Security and Defense, from The German Marshall Fund of the United States.

This meeting is not open to the press.

For interview requests with the Assembly President, contact Roberta Calorio ( – + 322 50 48 154)
The President’s Annual Report can be downloaded here.

[1]        Turkey recognises the Republic of Macedonia with its constitutional name.