Our Partners

The Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed Forces (DCAF)

The Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed Forces – DCAF – is an international foundation whose mission is to assist the international community in pursuing good governance and reform of the security sector. The Centre provides in‐country advisory support and practical assistance programmes, develops and promotes norms and standards, conducts tailored policy research, and identifies good practices and recommendations to promote democratic security sector governance. DCAF’s Gender and Security Programme works through research, policy and technical advice, and regional projects to support the development of security sectors that meet the security needs of men, women, boys and girls, and the full participation of men and women in security sector institutions and security sector reform processes.

The NATO Industrial Advisory Group (NIAG) 

The NATO Industrial Advisory Group (NIAG) was established in October 1968 to support the Conference of National Armaments Directors  (the senior NATO committee responsible for promoting the cooperation between countries in the armaments field) by facilitating cooperation between NATO and the Allies’ defence industries.
The NATO Industrial Advisory Group' aims to:

  • Providing a forum for free exchange of views on industrial, technical, economic, management and other relevant aspects of research, development and production of armament equipment within the Alliance; based on current and updated information provided by relevant NATO bodies;
  • Providing industry's advice to the CNAD on how to foster government-to-industry and industry-to-industry armaments co-operation within the Alliance;
  • Providing optimal use of NIAG resources to assist Main Armaments Groups, and their subordinate bodies, in exploring opportunities for international collaboration, and seeking timely and efficient ways to satisfy NATO military requirements.       

On 24 June 2017, the NATO Parliamentary Assembly Secretary General, David Hobbs and the Chairman of the NIAG, Martin Hill, signed a letter of intent for collaboration between the Assembly's ESC, STC and DSC Committees and the NIAG at the strategic, planning and implementation levels.

The NATO Science and Technology Organization (STO) 

The NATO Science and Technology Organization (STO) was established following a decision at the 2010 NATO Summit in Lisbon through bringing together the Research and Technology Organization and the NATO Undersea Research Centre. 

The STO ensures NATO maintains its military and technological edge to face current and future security challenges.  It does this by generating and implementing a leading-edge science and technology programme of work and by providing advice that advance the defence capabilities of Allies, partners and NATO in support of the core tasks of collective defence, crisis management and cooperative security.  The NATO PA cooperates with the STO primarily through the Office of the Chief Scientist (OCS) at NATO HQ in Brussels, Belgium.  

The STO is governed by the NATO Science and Technology Board (STB).

The Board administers the STO’s scientific and technical committees and its three executive bodies: the Centre for Maritime Research and Experimentation (CMRE) in La Spezia, Italy; the Collaboration Support Office in Paris, France; and the Office of the Chief Scientist.

The Chief Scientist is the chairman of the STB and the senior science advisor to the North Atlantic Council.
The scientific and technical committees, composed of members from national and NATO bodies, direct and execute NATO’s collaborative science and technology activities.
The CMRE organises and conducts scientific research and technology development, centred on the maritime domain, delivering innovative solutions to address the Alliance’s defence and security needs.

On 14 February 2015, the NATO Parliamentary Assembly Secretary General, David Hobbs and the then-NATO Chief Scientist, Albert Husniaux, signed a letter of intent for collaboration between the Assembly's Committees and Sub-Committees, in particular the Science and Technology Committee at the strategic, planning and implementation levels.

The Atlantic Treaty Association (ATA)

The Atlantic Treaty Association and the NATO Parliamentary Assembly have worked alongside each other since their inception in the 1950s. This long-standing relationship is based on shared objectives and complementary composition. Both organizations seek to promote the objectives and values of the North Atlantic Alliance, with the NATO PA being composed exclusively of parliamentarians while the Atlantic Treaty Association brings together non-governmental organizations and national voluntary bodies. The two organizations have well established mutual participation arrangements and also hold joint events.

Recently, they have further extended their cooperation by organizing ATA outreach activities to coincide with certain Assembly activities. This process has been greatly facilitated by connections between the organizations’ institutional leadership, notably from 2010 to 2012 when Dr Karl A. Lamers held the Presidency of both bodies.


Read also

    No related articles