NATO Parliamentary Assembly
HomeMEMBERSVice-Presidents and Treasurer

Vice-Presidents and Treasurer

Google Buzz


Metin Lutfi BAYDAR   

Turkey, Republican People's Party



Born in 1960 in İzmir. Graduated from Dokuz Eylul University Medical Faculty. Completed his residency on orthopedics and traumatology at the GATA Medical Faculty. Became an associate professor in 1995. Served as a chief physician at Eğirdir Orthopedics Hospital and Afyon Kocatepe Research and Application Hospital. He has been nominated as a Professor in 2000 at the Suleyman Demirel University Medical Faculty, and assigned to Chief Physician position at the Research and Application Hospital. He took the Rector position of Suleyman Demirel University from 2004 to 2011. He was elected as the first and only Turkish rector to the International Association of Universities in 2008. He was given the honorary PhD degree at the Odlar Yurdu University in Azerbaijan. He has published over 200 articles and 9 books. He is a member of Grand National Assembly of Turkey and Turkish Delegation to NATO PA since 2011. He has been the vice-chairman of the Sub-Committee on NATO Partnerships since 2013.


Joseph A. DAY                           

Canada, Liberal Party   



Joseph A. Day was called to the Senate upon the recommendation of the Rt. Honourable Jean Chrétien on October 4th, 2001. He represents the province of New Brunswick and the Senatorial Division of Saint John-Kennebecasis.

As of June 15th, 2016, Senator Day is proud to serve as the Senate Liberal Leader for the Senate Liberal Caucus. He chairs the Subcommittee on Veterans Affairs and serves as Deputy Chair of the Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce. Senator Day served as Vice Chair and then as Chair of the National Finance Committee for many years.  In addition, he is the Chair of the Canada-China Legislative Association as well as of the Canada-Mongolia Friendship Group. His areas of interest and specialization consist of science and technology, defence, veteran’s issues, international trade, human rights, heritage and literacy.

Senator Day joined the NATO Parliamentary Assembly in 2002, and served successively as Vice-Chair and later Chair of the Sub-Committee on Transatlantic Defence and Security Cooperation, as well as Vice-Chair and later Chair of the Defence and Security Committee. He was elected Vice-President of the Assembly in November 2016.  

Senator Day was appointed Honorary Lieutenant Colonel of 722 (Saint John) Communication Squadron in 2002 and served until 2005. A well-known New Brunswick lawyer and engineer, Senator Day has had a successful career as a private practice attorney. His legal interests include Patent and Trademark Law, and intellectual property issues.

Senator Day graduated from the Royal Military College of Canada as Best All-Round Graduate and an Outstanding College Athlete. He holds a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering from the Royal Military College of Canada, a Juris Doctorate from Queen’s University and a Masters of Laws from Osgoode Hall Law School. He was a member of the bars of Ontario, Quebec and New Brunswick, as well as a member of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geo-Scientists of New Brunswick.

Senator Day has served on the Board of the Corps of Commissionaires for New Brunswick and currently sits on the Board of the Provincial Archives of New Brunswick, the Board of the Canadian Battlefields Foundation, and is a Board member and Honourary Legal Counsel at the Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award - Canada. He also served as National President of the Royal Military Colleges Club of Canada (1996) and as chair of the RMCC Foundation (1997-2000). Senator Day served as a member of the RMC Board of Governors from January 2004 to January 2007.


Rasa JUKNEVICIENE                    

Lithuania, Homeland Union-Christian Democrat Party


A Signatory to the Act of Lithuanian Independence of March 11, 1990, Rasa Juknevičienė was elected to the Supreme Council – Reconstituent Seimas during Lithuania's first free election. Between 1992 and 1996, she served as Spokesperson for the Seimas Opposition and Desk Officer of the Homeland Union (Lithuanian Conservatives) Political Group. A member of the Seimas since 1996, Ms Juknevičienė held the position of Deputy Speaker in 1999-2000. In the current legislature, she serves as Deputy Chair of the Committee on National Security and Defence.

Ms Juknevičienė joined the NATO Parliamentary Assembly in 1999, and served as Rapporteur of the Sub-Committee on NATO Partnerships in 2007-2008 before being elected as a Vice-President of the Assembly in 2008. That same year, she was called to serve as Minister of National Defence in the Lithuanian government, a position she held until 2012.

Having rejoined the NATO PA in 2013, she currently chairs the Seimas delegation to the NATO PA, serves as General Rapporteur of the Political Committee and was again elected Vice-President of the Assembly in November 2016.

Rasa Juknevičienė is a graduate of the Lithuanian University of Health Sciences. She has been a member of the Advisory Council of the Center for European Policy Analysis since 2014, and is an Honorary Doctor of Political Sciences at the Hankuk University of Foreign Studies of the Republic of Korea.

Ms Juknevičienė is a recipient of the following prestigious awards: Cross of Commander of the Order of the Lithuanian Grand Duke Gediminas on the occasion of Lithuania’s accession to the EU (2004); Royal Order of Merit with Commander’s Star of the Kingdom of Norway (1998); Badge for Merits to the Riflemen’s Union (2008); Medal for Merits by the Ministry of National Defence; Badge for personal service to the course of Lithuania’s transatlantic integration awarded on the occasion of Lithuania’s invitation to join NATO (2002); Commemorative Medal “10th Anniversary of Independence of Ukraine” by the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine (2001); and Medal for merits to the restoration and establishment of the independent state of Lithuania in 1990–2000 awarded in commemoration of the 10th Anniversary of Lithuania’s Independence (2000).


Sverre MYRLI

Norway, Labour Party




Sverre Myrli was elected to the Norwegian Parliament, the Storting, in 1997. He represents the Labour Party and Akershus county.

Myrli is currently serving as member of the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications and the Credentials Committee. In previous parliamentary periods, he has served in the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence and the Standing Committee on Labour and Social Affairs.

Myrli joined the NATO Parliamentary Assembly in 2005. He chaired the Sub-Committee on Future Security and Defence Capabilities 2009-2012 and the Sub-Committee on Transatlantic Defence and Security Cooperation 2013-2016, before being appointed Vice-President of the Assembly in May 2016 and re-elected in November 2016.

Myrli was elected leader of the youth division of the Labour Party in his county Akershus in 1991, and was elected to Nes municipal council and Akershus county council the same year. Since 2002, he has chaired the Akershus County Labour Party and been an appointed member of the Labour Central Executive Committee.

Myrli was political adviser in the government of Thorbjørn Jagland in the Ministry of Transport and Communications 1996-1997.

Myrli holds a Master of Public Administration (MPA) from Copenhagen Business School. He has previously been employed by the Norwegian Defence Estate Agency, Norwegian People's Aid and Norwegian Confederation of Trade Unions and Labour Youth League. He has completed course for platoon commander training in the Norwegian Home Guard.



Luxembourg, Socialist Party